Carol Barnett is an American composer. Barnett's compositions range from solo piano, voice, chorus, diverse chamber ensembles, orchestra, and wind ensemble. She is a charter member of the American Composers Forum, a former McKnight fellow, and her works, including the popular Bluegrass Mass, are performed internationally. Click here to peruse or purchase works by this audacious and engaging female composer!

Rising golden sun,
the music of a new day;
come, share it with me.


Subscribe to my YouTube channel:


...Just published by E. C. Schirmer, "My People Are Rising," my piece for women's chorus, violin, and doumbek inspired by Mohja Kahf's unfinished poem about the Syrian revolution.

...The second edition of the Bluegrass Mass is finally here! Beady Eyes Publications titles can now be found on Graphite Publishing’s Marketplace page

...Into the Fire recently performed by Saint John UMC Choir and Monroe Crossing:

Currently Working On...

...Will's Ladies, a multi-movement work for Clara Osowski and the Metropolitan Symphony Orchestra

...Working with Ben Krywosz of Nautilus Music-Theater to revise the libretto of my chamber opera, SNOW, in preparation for reading and performance - stay tuned for further developments!

Premiere Opportunities

Golden Slumbers